Can I Lose my CDL for a Traffic Ticket?

Can I Lose my CDL for a Traffic Ticket?

February 18 2021


Commercial driver’s license (CDL) holders are held to a higher driving standard, even while driving their personal vehicle. They often face more serious consequences than other drivers for traffic violations. Some traffic violations can lead to the revocation of a CDL holder’s privileges for a few months, years, or even for life depending on the severity of the infraction.

A violation in a commercial vehicle is subject to 1.5 the number of points for the same infraction or violation in a non-commercial vehicle. CDL holders can lose their license for up to a year if they receive: six points in a 12-month period, eight points in a 24-month period, or ten points in a 36-month period. Some violations, including a DUI, can lead to the loss of CDL privileges for life.

Speeding in a Commercial Vehicle

In the state of California, commercial vehicles are not allowed to travel over 55mph on any road or highway. To put it simply, the higher the speed the higher the speeding ticket.

  • 1-15mph over=$230-$250
  • 16-25mph over=$360-$380
  • 26+mph over=$490-$500

In addition, the DMV will add anywhere from 1-1.5 the number of points to your record.

It is important to note that you should speak with a legal representative first before you pay any fine or assume any guilt if you receive a ticket in California.

Other Common Violations

  • Driving 15mph or more over the posted speed limit, reckless driving, following too closely, improper lane changes: 60-day loss of your CDL
  • Failing to reduce speed at railroad tracks: no less than 60 days loss of driving privileges
  • Driving with a blood alcohol of .04% or greater: one-year loss of driving privileges
  • Refusal to take a breath test for suspicion of DUI or being convicted of a DUI: one-year loss of license
  • Second refusal to take a breath test for suspicion of DUI: loss of CDL for life

Can I Benefit from Traffic School as a CDL Holder?

If you are a CDL holder and you receive a traffic violation in the state of California in your personal vehicle, you may be eligible for traffic school. Completing traffic school for an off-duty citation can prevent certain infractions from touching your driving record and potentially prevent punishment from your employer. Before the law was passed in 2012 that CDL holders could complete traffic school for off-duty citations, many faced ramifications from their employers.

Circumstances Where Traffic School for CDL Holder’s is not allowed:

  • Any violation involving the use of alcohol or drugs
  • Speed violations that are 15+mph over the listed speed limit
  • Reckless Driving
  • Tailgating

If you are a CDL holder and receive a ticket in California, Call Mr. Ticket!