We’ve all heard the age-old cliche that driving is a privilege and not a right. This is true, as every person who wishes to drive must meet a set of requirements. One thing that many drivers don’t look into prior to getting their license is the penalties that come with moving violations in the state of California.
It is not easy to pinpoint the fines associated with moving violations in California because they vary by county. You should look at the ticket you are issued to find the fine. One thing you should note is that every county tacks on a surcharge, too. This means that you will pay the posted fine and then a surcharge of 20 percent on top of that.
There are some other penalties you could face depending on the type of moving violation. These penalties include the court facility construction assessment, state penalty assessment, emergency medical services assessment, county penalty assessment and DNA identification fund assessment.
On top of the fines and penalties listed above, you will also be assessed points on your driver’s license for moving violations in California. Drivers are issued one point on their license for making an unsafe change in lanes, speeding or causing an accident. Drivers are issued two points on their license for DUI, hit-and-run, reckless driving and driving with a revoked or suspended license.
Now that you know the penalties associated with moving violations in California, you can become a better driver in an attempt to avoid these citations.
Seeing those flashing red and blue lights in your mirror is an uneasy feeling. It’s likely you are being pulled over by the police in Encino. Your mind begins to race as you try to figure out what it is you did to warrant a traffic stop. Maybe you were speeding. Maybe you illegally changed lanes. Maybe you were tailgating. Whatever the reason, you could very well be issued a traffic ticket. Here are some consequences of that ticket.
First and foremost you will be hit with fines. They can range couple $70 to a couple hundred dollars in California. It all depends on the seriousness of the violation and if you are a first, second or subsequent offender. The fines are typically written on the ticket. If they are not, they can be looked up online.
Depending on the law, your insurance rates could increase. Most minor traffic tickets will not affect your insurance. However, almost all moving violations will increase your rates. Moving violations include speeding, failure to yield and others will force your rates to increase.
Points can also be placed on your license with each traffic ticket issued. The points system is how violations are tracked. If you accrue too many points in a specific period of time, you could have your driver’s license suspended for anywhere from a couple of months to more than a year.
Now that you know the consequences of a traffic ticket in Encino, California, you can better prepare yourself should you ever be issued one. These tickets can be fought in court so know that they are not always final.
Source: DMV.org, “Ticket Fines and Penalties,” accessed May 04, 2018