Too many at-fault car accidents may leave you without a license
September 21 2018
Perhaps you were driving over the speed limit, lost control of your vehicle and were involved in a car accident. An officer determined your actions caused the majority of the damage, and you were subsequently ticketed. A few months later, you failed to make a complete stop at a stop sign, and you crashed into another vehicle. Again, an officer found your actions at-fault, and you received another ticket.
California driving laws assign serious penalties for those that engage in actions that lead to accidents on the roadway. Though you always try to drive safely and abide by all traffic laws, you have a serious case of bad luck and continue to receive point violations. Unfortunately, if you find yourself accused of multiple at-fault accidents in a 12-month time frame in California, you may lose your license. In any accident involving traffic convictions, you want to hire an experienced ticketing attorney to help you defend yourself against the accumulation of punishments.
California point system
The point system in California works to ensure that drivers do not have a excessive record of offenses. Keeping the roadway safe is the California Department of Motor Vehicle’s priority, so the state assigns points when drivers break laws.
The more serious the crime, the more points the DMV can assign to your record. For example, violations with lower point totals may include:
- Changing lanes without signaling
- Driving without your lights on
More significant point awards could stem from a conviction of:
- DUI violations
- Hit-and-run accidents
- Driving while endangering a child
While traffic tickets are common for drivers across the state, at-fault accidents prove rarer and can have larger point implications. Should you commit a crime that leads to a motor vehicle accident, you can face multiple points added to your record.
Multiple accidents lead to license suspensions
California law states that if you have one at-fault accident conviction on your record, the DMW will notify you in a letter.
If you face a second at fault accident within 12 months of your last accident:
- For 30 days, you cannot drive without a license adult over 25 years old
If a court finds you guilty of a third at-fault accident:
- Your license may be suspended for up to 6 months
- You may receive probation for up to one year
California court holds the authority to assign punishments as necessary for crimes committed. If your accidents involve injuries to other drivers, you could face more penalties and increased points.
When involved in an accident of any kind, it is essential that you call an experienced attorney to immediately discuss your circumstances before taking blame for an accident. Criminal defense attorneys have years of experience defending those involved in accidents, and they can accurately represent you in court to avoid punishments and potential licenses suspensions.